Our history

Certificate of incorporation SSM
Certificate of incorporation SSM

The Swiss Meteorological Society was founded on 8 August 1916 in Scuol/Schuls on the initiative of A. de Quervain, R. Billwiller, A. Riggenbach and P.-L. Mercanton. Until 1969 it was called the Swiss Society for Geophysics, Meteorology and Astronomy (GMA) and was a section of the Swiss Society of Natural Scientists (Schweizerische Naturforschende Gesellschaft SNG). The main reason for founding its own society was that at the annual meetings of the SNG, the representatives of these disciplines had to give lectures on their work in other sections (physics, geology), without arousing any interest there.

The Society had 46 members in its founding year. On 28 April 1917, the constituent meeting took place in Bern with the adoption of the statutes, the election of the board and the determination of the membership fee. At at that time, it was one Franc for ordinary members and two Francs for extraordinary members.

On October 4, 1969, at the General Assembly in St. Gallen, the name of the Society was changed to the Swiss Society for Geophysics, after a Society for Astrophysics and Astronomy had been founded. In 1978, the distinction between ordinary and extraordinary members was abolished. The last change to the current name Swiss Meteorological Society took place on 7 October 1994 in Aarau, after the geophysicists left the Society.

Unsere Geschichte

Gründungsurkunde SGM
Gründungsurkunde SGM

Die Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Meteorologie wurde am 8. August 1916 in Scuol/Schuls auf Initiative von A. de Quervain, R. Billwiller, A. Riggenbach und P.-L. Mercanton gegründet. Sie hiess bis zum Jahre 1969 Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Geophysik, Meteorologie und Astronomie (GMA) und war eine Sektion der Schweizerischen Naturforschenden Gesellschaft (SNG). Hauptgrund zur Gründung einer eigenen Gesellschaft: An den Jahresversammlungen der SNG waren die Vertreter dieser Disziplinen gezwungen, über ihre Arbeiten in anderen Sektionen (Physik, Geologie) zu referieren, ohne dort auf Interesse zu stossen.

Die Gesellschaft hatte im Gründungsjahr 46 Mitglieder zu verzeichnen. Am 28. April 1917 fand die konstituierende Versammlung in Bern statt mit der Annahme der Statuten, der Wahl des Vorstandes und der Festsetzung des Mitgliederbeitrages, der damals für ordentliche Mitglieder einen Franken und für ausserordentliche Mitglieder zwei Franken betrug.

Am 4. Oktober 1969 wurde an der Hauptversammlung in St. Gallen der Name der Gesellschaft in Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Geophysik umbenannt, nachdem eine Gesellschaft für Astrophysik und Astronomie gegründet worden war. 1978 wurde die Unterscheidung zwischen ordentlichen und ausserordentlichen Mitgliedern abgeschafft. Die letzte Namensänderung der Gesellschaft in Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Meteorologie fand am 7. Oktober 1994 in Aarau statt, nachdem die Geophysiker aus der Gesellschaft austraten.