Our history

Certificate of incorporation SSM
Certificate of incorporation SSM

The Swiss Meteorological Society was founded on 8 August 1916 in Scuol/Schuls on the initiative of A. de Quervain, R. Billwiller, A. Riggenbach and P.-L. Mercanton. Until 1969 it was called the Swiss Society for Geophysics, Meteorology and Astronomy (GMA) and was a section of the Swiss Society of Natural Scientists (Schweizerische Naturforschende Gesellschaft SNG). The main reason for founding its own society was that at the annual meetings of the SNG, the representatives of these disciplines had to give lectures on their work in other sections (physics, geology), without arousing any interest there.

The Society had 46 members in its founding year. On 28 April 1917, the constituent meeting took place in Bern with the adoption of the statutes, the election of the board and the determination of the membership fee. At at that time, it was one Franc for ordinary members and two Francs for extraordinary members.

On October 4, 1969, at the General Assembly in St. Gallen, the name of the Society was changed to the Swiss Society for Geophysics, after a Society for Astrophysics and Astronomy had been founded. In 1978, the distinction between ordinary and extraordinary members was abolished. The last change to the current name Swiss Meteorological Society took place on 7 October 1994 in Aarau, after the geophysicists left the Society.

Notre histoire

Certificate of incorporation SSM
Certificate of incorporation SSM

La Société Suisse de Métérologie a été fondée le 8 août 1916 à Scuol/Schuls à l'initiative de A. de Quervain, R. Billwiller, A. Riggenbach et P.-L. Mercanton. Jusqu'en 1969, elle s'appelait la Société suisse de géophysique, de météorologie et d'astronomie (GMA) et faisait partie de la Société suisse des sciences naturelles (Schweizerische Naturforschende Gesellschaft SNG). La raison principale de la création de sa propre société était que lors des réunions annuelles de la SNG, les représentants de ces disciplines devaient donner des conférences sur leurs travaux dans d'autres sections (physique, géologie), sans pour autant y éveiller un quelconque intérêt.

L’année de sa fondation, la société comptait 46 membres. Le 28 avril 1917, l'assemblée constitutive a eu lieu à Berne avec l'adoption des statuts, l'élection du conseil d'administration et la fixation de la cotisation des membres. À l'époque, elle était d'un franc pour les membres ordinaires et de deux francs pour les membres extraordinaires.

Le 4 octobre 1969, lors de l'assemblée générale de Saint-Gall, le nom de la Société a été changé en Société suisse de géophysique, après la création d'une Société d'astrophysique et d'astronomie. En 1978, la distinction entre membres ordinaires et extraordinaires a été abolie. Le dernier changement du nom actuel de la Société météorologique suisse s’est passé le 7 octobre 1994 à Aarau, après que les géophysiciens aient quittés la Société.